Car clamping

Ratpack

Was going to work last week to find someone clamping my car. I asked him what he was doing and he said I'd not paid a parking ticket. He was a bailiff and I owed him ?650.

I told him I'd never got a parking ticket. He told me to phone the council. When I did he continued to clamp my car. The council (Southwark) said they could not give me details of the parking ticket as it was out of their hands and with the bailiffs.

Even though I said how could I pay ?650 for something I have no knowledge of they said they couldn't help.

The bailiff said my car was going to be towed in the afternoon if I didn't pay the cash.

As I had just completed on my flat that day my car was full of everything to move house after work. I was also due at work for a very important event. The man had me over a barrel and so I had to pay the cash as I needed my car.

The council have since said the parking ticket was from CCTV and not an actual paper ticket but can't give me any more information. They even sent me some close up shots of my car - which could be anywhere as they are so blurred and just show my car and not the location or what it was doing wrong.

This has really upset me. If I parked wrongly I'd pay the fine but I've never had any letters, tickets anything. This is the first I have heard of this. I am now severely skint (when moving house) and really angry at the council.

Has anyone else had a similar experience? I'm going to have to take this to court to get my cash back, which I could do without to be honest.

Thats the ones, check out a few bailiff websites they feature a lot, I had the same trouble for a parking ticket that I thought I'd paid they said they had sent letters which they hadn't

first thing to do is get a breakdown from them of the what the amount they paid you consisted of, there's all sort of rules and regulations they should carry out. Letters to be issued etc etc they have to visit you to try to get payment before clamping cars etc.