Fund raising and accounting

dbboy

If the fund is registered as a charity then, in theory, it could be challenged. If the fund raiser is just going to donate to a registered charity however then there is no obvious check to be made, unless and if you believe that the fund raising is a scam, in which case it could be reported to the police as such. There is no mechanism whereby the fund raiser could be audited 'on spec'. And if the funds are not destined for a registered charity then no interest would be taken. Caveat emptor.

However, such fund raising could be seen as income generating (depending upon the mechanism being used to raise funds, for instance the sale of tickets or other items) in which case, if the enterprise was seen as being a business, then HMRC could be involved, were there to be tax liability issue. If the fund raising was using a lottery that too is regulated.

(I am not a lawyer, however, so this is based on a normal 'business' understanding of affairs).

You would need to register the cause/ collection as a charity - alternative being a business which has tax implications.

You would also need a bank account in the name of the cause for the donations and expenditure - you most certainly couldn't put it into your own personal account - that would be fraud.

A charity has to be auditable and file accounts, just as a business would.

Donations are often received as cash, but also direct debit. AS such you would need to be able to register donors and keep a track of their individual donations (of course, remembering to thank them).

Obviously, donations from street collections wouldn't apply, but depends on the scale of the charity and the money needed/ methods of collection.