Artificial lawns??

apbremer

I,and, I suspect, many others,am fed up with seeding or turfing bare bits of lawn each Spring(usually unsuccessfully) and all the mowing and fiddling around with moss etc.during the year. Has anyone out there any experience with artificial grass??

Hello! I have no experience of it myself but my neighbour has it. It was very expensive for their small garden, about ?3000. IT LOOKS AWFUL. Lawns can be hard work if you are very bothered about the moss and dandelions etc. Mine has moss, dandelions, daisies, buttercups etc, I think there are more weeds and moss than grass ... BUT i enjoyed watching an early bumble bee on the daisies, and the robins, tits etc gathering up moss for their little nest behind the ivy. Or fledging blackbirds being taught to pull out worms. If you can live with a less than perfect lawn please do. You can keep some of the weeds down with spot killers, or just by picking off the dandelion flowers before they turn to seed.

If you have too much lawn to cope with perhaps you could consider throwing some wild flower seeds around and leaving a bit of it for a meadow area? Then you would just have to cut it once a year?

The man next door was struggling to rake off debris, pick up berries etc, he got the hoover out, but it didn't work well, there he was one berry at a time. I think there is a place for fake grass, on balconies where you can't grow it.

Would you appreciate a bunch of plastic roses? Best wishes.