Chinese Visa problem

Alan Medic

My son's study visa expires at the end of July. He's due to start working in China on August 1st. The company have to start the ball rolling once he gets his degree certificate. From what I read this process of obtaining a work visa could take some time.

The company have never employed a foreigner before so the process is new to them and nothing seems to happen very quickly there. My question is, what if he stays in the country after his current visa lapses without having obtained the new one?

Has anyone any experience of a similar situation? What would you advise?

AM, I have no exact knowledge, but it'd be reasonable to err on the side of caution.

It's not like China has flexible rules and an open-minded view around bureaucracy.

If your son infringes I wouldn't be surprised if he's deported/banned/fined or even imprisoned temporarily/meanwhile.

Those guys don't mess about !

Can't he go hang out in HK (different visa system ?) or Vietnam a while ?

Alan Medic Wrote:

-------------------------------------------------------

> My son's study visa expires at the end of July.

> He's due to start working in China on August 1st.

> The company have to start the ball rolling once he

> gets his degree certificate. From what I read this

> process of obtaining a work visa could take some

> time.

>

> The company have never employed a foreigner before

> so the process is new to them and nothing seems to

> happen very quickly there. My question is, what if

> he stays in the country after his current visa

> lapses without having obtained the new one?

>

> Has anyone any experience of a similar situation?

> What would you advise?

Hi Alan,

It is not advisable to overstay your visa in China; it will result in arrest & a ban forever entering China again. Chinese laws are absolute in their effect & there is no leeway whatever. The police are very powerful & in many ways beyond the law & the courts are essentially police courts.