Tenant won't pay rent and won't leave

SueOrr0103

Hello,

I need some advice. I have a tenant for a Buy to Let flat of mine who refuses to pay the agreed contracted rent. I served him 1 month's notice as per the signed tenancy agreement and he refuses to leave. Can you please let me know what I can do next? I'm fairly new to renting and have no experience of this.

Many thanks,

Sue

Have a look at the .gov website: https://www.gov.uk/evicting-tenants/overview

You need to follow strict procedures to evict a tenant, otherwise the notice will not be valid.

Also have a look at the Shelter advice guide for private tenancies: https://england.shelter.org.uk/housing_advice/private_renting and eviction: https://england.shelter.org.uk/housing_advice/eviction

After rent arrears reach a minimum of eight weeks, you can serve a notice to seek possession. This will involve going to court where a magistrate will decide to either grant a possession order for eviction, grant a suspended possession order (common for social landlords where arrears have good reason, like benefits delays etc), or decline the possession order.

With private property, you are highly likely to be granted a possession order for rent arrears, providing you follow the correct process for doing so. Once you have that order granted, you can instruct bailiffs to evict.

It is worth throughout this process, trying to still reach the tenant and see what the problem is. It is also worth speaking to neighbours to see if the tenant has been seen or not. Has your property been abandoned for example? Or has your tenant any issues with the property, or some personal change of circumstance, such as loss of job or benefits? If they are not repsonding to you, then you have little choice but to evict.

Some useful links;

https://www.gov.uk/evicting-tenants/overview

http://www.which.co.uk/consumer-rights/advice/how-to-legally-evict-your-tenant