Journalist seeks empty home for newspaper project

Susbo

Hi there,

I'm a journalist based in Dulwich. I'm looking into a story for The Guardian about empty homes, which will involve profiling a particular house. I want to tell its history and report on its current emptiness in a way that sheds light on the broader issue.

Let me know if you're aware of a potentially suitable empty home near you. I'd love to hear about it.

Kind regards,

Simon Usborne

susborne.com

6 new houses built well over a year ago in the development on the corner of Crystal Palace Road and Upland Rd. They took several years to build, caused a great deal of local disruption and now lay empty! Each are 4 bed homes and at least a few have been bought but remain empty. Makes my blood boil.

> I want to tell its history and report on its current

> emptiness in a way that sheds light on the broader issue.

How informative of the broader issue can the story of any single house be; however interesting, telling or instructive?

ianr Wrote:

-------------------------------------------------------

> How informative of the broader issue can the story

> of any single house be; however interesting,

> telling or instructive?

You don't know till you've looked. But there's a finite number of types of problem (practical, financial, legal/regulatory or personal) that can affect any one development, and so any one is likely to represent a decent chunk of the whole.

Hi Simon, I know you asked about empty homes but are you aware of thread ined issues section regarding the disabled man who has been living outside The empty Harvester on Lordship Lane. This is a situation

many local people feel helpless after a certain point.