Thinking of starting a new career?? Advice??

TonyD

Hi all,

I am glazier by trade but have thought for a long time this is not the job I want to be doing for the rest of my days.... I 27 years old and a father of 3, I want a job where I can utilise my skills, I have always wanted an office based job in which I have had experience in but am I now to old to completely go down a new path????

I seem to think as soon as a potential employer looks at my CV and all that is gonna stand out is construction industry!!!

Please feel free to pass on advice or experiences that you may have had which will help me make my mind up

Much appreciated

At 27 you're definitely not too old to change paths; lots of people do at your age and older (I graduated when I was 31). Do you have a specific kind of role or industry in mind?

One way to do it might be to think about all the skills you already have and identify what's transferable. For example, could you use your industry experience to take on a sales job and use that to explore next steps and get some office-based experience on your CV?

If you want a complete change, as Natty as said, you could look for a voluntary admin role with a local charity.

Go for it! Best of luck.

Plenty of senior managers in the construction industry started out as tradesmen so the fact that your CV says construction industry may be a good thing. Sales is a good idea but what about estimating or surveying? These are office type jobs (even if sometimes it's a portakabin on a site) and might suit. Contact any of the big Contractors/Housebuilders for details of their trainee schemes - they will often pay for college/university and as you've got a family it may be a safer way to go. At 27 you are certainly not too old to go down that route.