boring topic - self employed tax return - info needed??

Minitoots

How detailed do my self employed records need to be? I'm a self employed designer/agent and have used a book keeper to my do my accounts each year, but am trying to do some of the paperwork for her this year to cut costs. I keep hand written spreadsheets with all info of what invoices I've raised, amount, date payment received etc etc and the same info for payments I've made to my designers (as a textile design agent I take a commission on designs I've sold for them). I give the book keeper all this info plus all my bank statements with notes on them of any other purchases etc.

She says I also need to copy ALL details of ALL bank statements ont an excel sheet with details of what they were for etc etc. It seems as though she wants it on an excel spreadsheet because she says if I put the opening balance in the 'balance column' when I start the forumula it should tally with the bank statements. As I'm already giving her the statements and spreadsheets with these amounts on, it seems like a waste of time to do it all again? Hope this rambling question makes sense!

Does anyone know if its 100% neccessary for me to do all this?

Depends how much you earn. You need only fill out the 4 page mini one if you earned less than ?15,000 (tho I think that's going up to ?30,000 soon??) If you're less than ?15,000 then just fill in the basics for now that it asks for and worry about the detail to back it up later.

And learn from this to save yourself time and money in the future!

Wouldn't have thought so.

You have the choice of whether or not to send the Inland Revenue detailed stuff or not, I seem to recall from the on-line tax form I filled in last week :)

Though obviously you need to have all the details to hand should the IR or whatever they're called now choose to come and investigate you.