Converting cassettes to CD

Narnia

Declan

one of these should be the fellow

basically it's going from the headphone socket in your tape player to the audio in socket on the laptop/pc - they are usually 3,5 but if you are going from a big deck you might have a bigger headphone socket

But I would suggest the Carnell method as a better bet quality wise

If you say what albums you are after people on here may already have them as well..

Declan - it's a very basic lead. Sorry I am not an expert on the terminolgy, but for converting form mini-disc I just took the MD recorder into Maplins and said I wanted to connect it to a laptop, I spent under a ?5er.

It's gonna be something like 'micro-jack', '3.5mm jack'.

If you have a stereo (like a component system) then yo may need to come out of the rear with a L/R channel (like what goes to the amp) then connect it with a '2 to 1' connector to a single lead which goes to the laptop.

Maplins get these questions every day, do some measurements, take some pics and take what you can to that shop or similar and they willsort you out - or someone on here clever than me can advise the names of this stuff !

I have to do the same with my tapes soon (and vinyl..) so would be interested how you get on.

david_carnell Wrote:

-------------------------------------------------------

> If you own the originals you can download the

> albums from bit-torrent websites without doing

> anything illegal.

'Fraid not, DC.

This is copyright infringement = illegal.

*Bob* Wrote:

> 'Fraid not, DC.

>

> This is copyright infringement = illegal.

Really? How so? Surely if I own a legally bought copy of that album (on any format) all I am doing by downloading it is obtaining a duplicate. As long as I then don't attempt to distribute or sell that copy I have done nothing wrong.

Surely that was the loophole that would allow you to make compilation albums on cassettes.