Cheap but tasty recipe ideas wanted!

missus

I'm heading back to uni in October and I'm quite anxious to be more economising when it comes to food (and everything else, if I'm honest).

I know you are probably all thinking, "Why doesn't she eat baked beans on toast or cold rice pudding out the tin like the I did when I was a student!?" but it may amuse you all to know that, at the royal age of 21, I suffer from a severe case of food snobberyitis.... (Yes, when my student loan comes in, I head straight for the M&S food hall NOT Wetherspoons...shock! horror!)..

My 'given' excuse is that I really enjoy cooking but I really need some cheap meal ideas that are as nutritionally balanced as possible so that I don't end up, at the end of term, sobbing into a bowl of lidl own brand choco pops which I am forced, by my own folly, to eat for breakfast, lunch and dinner!!!

All recipes(and money saving tips, if you have any) welcome....

Home-made soup is your friend - particularly if you've got access to a freezer. Go to your local market and buy whatever they are selling off for a ?1 a scoop - broccoli, cauliflower, peppers, carrots, potatoes (and/or a mix) etc. Stock is better (less salty) if you make your own but stock cubes are cheaper and easier. Saute some onion with some butter or oil, toss in the vegetables and then add the stock and simmer for an hour. You can liven it up with chilli, make it richer with cream, add in bacon bits or cheese. Nothing like home-made soup with a bit of crusty bread on a winter night's after lectures.

Other student staple is pasta - but learn/experiment with different sauces. Tins of tomatoes are cheap and again, you can add whatever veg is going cheap into it. Would recommend having the ingredients for a puttanesca around - it's really rich and flavoursome but v quick and you'll get multiple portions out of the jars (anchovies, capers, olives, chilli flakes)