Help a primary school teacher build a school in Nepal

tarynlondon

Hi everyone! :))

My name is Taryn Hauritz and I am a primary school teacher who lives in East Dulwich. In the next five weeks I will be running a marathon and a half marathon for a charity which is very close to my heart - The CAIRN Trust. (I am NOT a runner!)

The CAIRN Trust (Child Aid In Rural Nepal) is a children's charity aimed at helping children in Nepal gain access to an education. Nepal is the poorest country in South Asia, with 8.37 million people living on less than US $1 a day. 56%

of the population are illiterate and many children have to walk up to four hours each way in order to attend primary school. Education is a proven way out of poverty and as the Nepalese Government does not have the resources to provide enough schools in rural areas, The CAIRN Trust has started to alleviate this problem. To date, The CAIRN Trust have built nine schools in rural villages in Nepal, giving over 1,300 of the poorest children the opportunity of an education.

My ambitious plan is to raise enough money for The CAIRN Trust to BUILD A SCHOOL in rural Nepal. This will take ?7,000. I intend on running until I reach my target. Think Forrest Gump!

On the 1st April, I will be privileged enough to be able to go to Nepal with The CAIRN Trust to see exactly how the fundraising has impacted on the children and communities in rural Nepal. (Entirely self-funded) What an opportunity!

I have already received some very generous donations from businesses in the local area and I am now looking for futher support.

HOW CAN YOU HELP?

If you are able to offer a service or product that I would be able to auction, it would really help my cause. I am also planning a big auction evening in March and would value any support I can get. I?d be happy to come and talk to you about the charity anytime that is convenient, so please get in touch. I?d also be thrilled to receive personal donations!