i-phone geeks: I need your help

Polly D

Help.

My i-phone (3G) suddenly stopped working last Friday afternoon. It said no signal, and has done ever since, and it's def not just a signal issue. At first I could still use the internet, just not the phone/messages, I guess cos I was at home so connected through wifi but now I can't get anything from it all.

I spoke to Orange at great length on Saturday to report it, and last night, and in between they sent me a new SIM card, which has made no difference to the problem.

Anyone heard of this being a problem before and might know which buttons I need to press?

I can't bear to ring Orange for the 3rd time and go through the whole palaver.

Thanks

P

Have you checked general settings to make sure you have not disabled network settings or something like that ?

I am not a techie either but the network-related info is pretty easy to find and may show something is switched 'oof' when you need it 'on'.

Also try googling your description of the problem.

It might be worth trying a reboot (otherwise known as a hard reset) "press and hold the Sleep/Wake button and the Home button together for at least ten seconds, until the Apple logo appears."

Have you tried your sim card in another phone to see if that is the problem?

Basically I think all phones are programmed to act up after 12-18 months with random failures such as signal drop off, and generally be a PITA so we're forced to upgrade, but that would be the cynic in me.

Apple products are notorious for batteries suddenly dying off and battery issues can cause all sorts of other problems.

Mine simply stopped charging (not helped by mocklet drool in the power port) so I've just put my sim into an old phone until upgrade time (next month, woo hoo)