Cyclists gripes

rifleman harris

I notice we have a few cyclists on the forum. My journey takes less than 10 minutes as I work in Dulwich but in such a short journey I have come across so many idiotic and plain dangerous behaviour from drivers that im surprised i haven't been hospitalised. the closest being back in April where a white van driver pulled out from the kerb without looking and causing me to crash and sustain a broken shoulder from which i am still recovering from. So come on cyclists; what horror stories have you got and what behaviour on the road really rankles you?

Sorry Harris, I am a fellow cyclist and my journey is about five miles from ED to Beckenham but I am generally amazed at how considerate most drivers are. I've been cycling in London for about 8 years and never had an accident. In that time I've come accross a few moronic drivers but in truth not that many. However I am perfectly happy to recognise that just because I've not come into contact with them doesn't mean they ain't there. (just about to ride home in a minute - so as sod's law will have it, probably end up in hospital tonight)

I did end up in hospital today Citizen! Unfortunately, it was a self-inflicted cycle accident.

I have been riding in London for twenty years or so, but I think I am used to the driving. The key is to assert yourself on the roads well by your position or drivers will take advantage.

I reckon the most annoying thing is other riders without respect for the rules or others. One day I am gonna blow .....