penalty charge notice yesterday but dated 2004

emc

Hi

I stupidly parked for 3 mins on a single yellow line yesterday whilst picking up my daughter and found a penalty charge notice when I returned - only thing is, it's dated 1/2/2004 (date of contravention) and the same for date of service of this notice. I don't know how this has happened but does it give me any leeway for not paying the ticket?

thanks

I am not a lawyer, but I would say go and buy a lottery ticket - it's your lucky day.

According to the legislation, a notice of enforcement must be made within six months of the date the ticket was served, according to the Civil Enforcement of Parking Contraventions (England) General Regulations 2007. Yours is coming up to eight years. I think the council has missed the boat.

If the council were silly enough to admit the date was wrong, then the ticket would - IMHO - be unenforceable they would be admitting that the ticket failed to include the correct date the ticket was served.

You'll probably need to go through the normal appeal channels. I would venture that if your car was made after 2005 you have a decent excuse right there, anyway...!

You might not have owned the car in 2004, or the Warden might not have worked for the authority at that time.

One year can be an error but eight years is not reasonable.

If the ticket was issued in 2004 the rule that is quoted might not apply.

Civil Enforcement of Parking Contraventions (England) General Regulations 2007.

ibilly99 - do councils ever accept people may made an honest mistake in parking where they do?

Considering the number of dodgy parking tickets issued every year, each one is fair game for whatever technicality you can dig up, as far as I'm concerned.

computedshorty Wrote:

-------------------------------------------------------

> You might not have owned the car in 2004, or the

> Warden might not have worked for the authority at

> that time.

> One year can be an error but eight years is not