Excessive snot

crystal7

Please excuse the subject matter, not one to read if you're about to eat!

My daughter is 4 in February and throughout the winter months suffers from a constantly running nose. There are 2-3 week periods when it stops before starting all over again until Spring/Summer. I have to be on guard with a tissue as she is unable or unwilling to blow her own nose (will wipe sometimes)and as a result her nose can get rather sore. There are no other symptons of a cold e.g. she eats and sleeps normally, doesn't have a sore throat or a cough. Sometimes the snot is very dark and green (sorry). It's been going on for 2 years.

I have taken her to the GP several times as it doesn't seem normal to me. I know that children get all sorts of viruses at this time of year, I am a primary school teacher so well used to snotty children! But the fact that it doesn't seem to be a cold as she isn't ill is strange? GP said it was completely normal and would get better as she gets older. I asked about allergies but was told that was very unlikely given we have no family history and that there are periods of time when she is without snot. I have an appointment to see a different doctor next week. I wonder if anyone else has experienced this in their child? I hope I don't come across as neurotic, just feel sorry for her having me hovering with tissues when she's trying to play...

She goes to nursery 3 days per week by the way.

Thanks!

It could be worth exploring the diet issue further with the new GP. I have a permamently runny nose if I drink cow's milk and no other pain or symptoms, and noone else in my family has the same issue. It was getting incredibly annoying and embarrassing at work to be constantly blowing/wiping my nose whilst trying to look professional in meetings.