Is there a chance children in the slow/back groups in schools can ever catch up wih the rest?

Sol

With the current school system where children are placed in groups according to their knowledge/ability, and tasks are allocated in accordance to their level/group; is there a chance children in the back/slow groups can ever catch up with the rest? Won?t they keep falling even more behind?, when some children are allocated more challenging tasks and other not? I am not an expert in education and did not grow up here so don't understand the reasons/success of this method.

Schools are supposed to monitor progress at an individual level so that kids are not stuck in an ability group and then forgotten about. In practice, a lot depends on how active head teachers and other managers are on this topic, and how good individual class teachers are at doing it. It's probably one of the more important questions to ask as a parent, IMHO.

My experience of the local primary school my kids go to is that kids do move between groups, and even within groups may be given slightly different work tailored to their ability, and there is also some specific provision for both gifted kids and those who are really struggling.

not sure about older kids but my experience of key stage one is that kids swap groups as needed. there is a lot of difference at a young age as kids start literacy very differently. the school should be able to manage this so that slower kids feel good about their learning. has been very positive for my son.