Driving on my own with 2 toddlers in the car

Didine

I booked a week away in Broadstairs in Feb. I will be driving on my own from ED with both kids on board and it will be my first 'long trip' ever as I am also a new driver.

Apart from being patient and expecting anything, what do I need to plan so that the 2 hours are not becoming my worst nightmare...

Any tips are welcome

Thanks

try and plan it around nap time, if they have them, as they will hopefully fall asleep. otherwise, find some music to put on or a story tape. also, if they have toy computers they can be fun. make it seem exciting to them, let them pack a bag etc.

Depending on the age of your children, they might well sleep for a large part of the journey. For the time that they are awake, do you have some toys/ books that you can attach to their car seats (so they don't drop them and lose them). A music/ story cd is handy and joining in with singing songs. Plan where you will stop along the way and decide if you keep going if they are asleep. Whilst driving, particularly on motorways etc, focus on driving, not them, only stop if it is safe to but I find if I stop if they are crying (unless you know that there is a problem) it just makes it worse, they stop crying for a little bit but then start straight on again when you go again. So keep driving to the next services or your planned stop and then get everyone out/fed/watered etc. make sure the car has been checked for oil, screen wash, tyre pressure, petrol etc. good luck :)