Maternity Allowance - Keeping in Touch Days

lucyb

I was just wondering if there are any self-employed mums out there who with any practical experience of working whilst also claiming Maternity Allowance? I am a self-employed artist and at 31 weeks pregnant I am just about to send back my form to DWP to start claiming MA (I have already had confirmation from DWP that I am entitled, I just need to notify them of my last day of work).

My understanding is that if you are claiming Maternity Allowance you are allowed to work up to ten days ('keeping in touch days') during the MA period without losing your entitlement to MA, but there isn't much info in the DWP guidance or on the internet generally about how this works in practice. For example, do I have to notify DWP if I am going to be doing these ten days work (and at what point?), or do I just tell them if and when I go over my ten days? Can anyone shed any light on what sort of activities count as 'work' for these purposes? For example, if I am at home painting or drawing, does this mean I am 'working', or what about if I send emails, or is it if I sell a piece of work and actually collect money for it during this period?

I have received some free legal advice from an arts organisation on this topic, but they were only able to advise that a 'common sense approach' be taken as what I deem to be 'work' might be different to DWP's view. If anyone has any practical experience of how this works in practice I'd be most grateful!

I would say that what matters is what's produced on paper. You don't have a regular hours job so things will be more flexible with you I would say.

I worked theses days while claiming allowance.

I assumed I didn't notify because there was no bureaucratic procedure to do so through, and no instructions.

I also assumed that, like tax, they could investigate it either through their own or hmrc.

My job requires me to send invoices so I have a clear record of days I have worked.