Music lessons

Monkey

What age is good to start learning to play a musical instrument? And what instrument is it good to start with? Hubby's suggesting the guitar... I am completely unmusical and haven't a clue.

My daughter is four and a half by the way.

Thank you in advance, Forumites!

It really depends on the child. Personally I always recommend recorder as a starter instrument, as it's easy to get a decent sound from and is technically straight forward, meaning the child can concentrate on learning to read music without having to struggle with the instrument itself.

From recorder it's a relatively easy transition to other wind instruments.

Violin is another good option, although a lot trickier in terms of hand position and fingerings.

Guitar or ukulele are also possibilities, although to my mind a very different type of musical path through reading chords. Depends what the child wants to do really!

In terms of age, I started recorder at 6 or 7, self taught, followed by lessons for a couple of years, and moved to flute at 10. My 7 year old son started private recorder lessons at 5. My daughter (nearly 6) wants to play ukulele, which we will look into later this year.

The main thing at such a young age is that it's the child wanting to do it, rather than pushing them.

Hope that helps x

Also, in addition to sting and wind instruments there are keyboards as well. Again at a young age relatively simple playing methods and can concentrate on reading music and timings. Admittedly my daughter didn't start until age 8. Could probably have started from 6/7 but didn't show much interest and agree with Pickle that they need to be.