Baby Carrier comparison request: Baby Bjorn v Ergobaby

Hi,

I am expecting my first baby in the next couple of months and am busy looking at baby carriers.

So far we have tried the Baby Bjorn Miracle Baby carrier which both my husband and I liked.

I want to try Ergobaby Original and the Ergobaby 360 as they get good reviews.

While I know I should go with what feels best I just wondered what people's thoughts were and suggestions of things to look out for as I am new to parenting!

Many thanks in advance!

I didn't like the BabyBjorn Active that we had at all. It really hurt my shoulders once our babies were a bit bigger.

The Ergo was much more comfortable for me, and lasts longer as well. I still back carry my 3 year old (and 5 year old very occasionally!), and use it with my 1 year old all the time. I have never used the Ergo with a newborn, though, as I used a wrap for the first 6-7 months.

Hello!

Totally agree with Snowboarder, Ergo is a different (much better!) beast to Bjorn. Ergo is a proper soft structured carrier and will carry weight on your hips and back, not focused around your neck. Also Ergo has baby in proper froggy position, not held up by crotch. Much kinder for mum/dad and baby and will last far longer.

Even better would be a Manduca, similar to an Ergo but even comfier and longer lasting. I am like a stuck record to regular EDF readers but I carried my nearly 4yo til he was nearly 2.5yo in a Manduca and I was very pregnant and I'm now carrying my 15 month old in one and have never put her in a buggy cos frankly it's just much easier to stick her in the sling!

This review is old but a great comparison of Ergo with Manduca:

http://extraordinarybabyshoppe.blogspot.co.uk/2009/08/product-comparison-ergo-vs-manduca.html?m=1