Childcare issue with boss

avablue

Hi Everyone,

I work as a nanny whilst also finishing up my BA degree. My boss has become increasingly demanding and extremely self-consumed. I have attempted to do my best for this family. I get along very well with little girl I look after and always go above and beyond what they ask of me. However, recently she has put me in situations which I feel very uncomfortable with. I was wondering if I could receive some opinions on if I am over - reacting to things or if I am validated in feeling this way.

1). my boss has mondays and tuesday off, although I still work full days on those days. Recently their dog has been ill but my boss refused to take him to vet and demands that I do so instead. I was fine with taking the dog to the vet the first two times because I couldn't stand for the poor thing to be in pain. However, it became clear to me that she was purposely leaving the dog to be ill on the weekends and mondays and tuesdays and then forcing me to take the dog to the vet on Wednesday. For instance, I would arrive for work on Wednesday morning for her to inform me that the dog had been vomiting all weekend and during the early week and not eating food and insist that I take him to the vet. This meant that I was having to run all over town with a sick dog in order to take it to the vet and then have to make medical choices for her pet at the vet which I felt uncomfortable with. I expressed that I felt uncomfortable with this as it was their pet and my responsibility was to care for their child. I was told that I needed to 'suck it up' and that I didnt have a choice in what I was made to do at work. What annoyed me the most was that it was clear she could't be bothered to care for the dog and was just leaving it to me to do. She would also tell the little girl that the dog could die if I refused to take it to the vet which was very manipulative and made the little girl very distraught.