Need some help and advice - employment

Kiyalily

Dear all,

I have been out of work for over a year now due to childcare and family commitments. Now that my daughter has started nursery at a local primary school, I am now ready to get back to work. I have been applying for both full time and part time jobs for the past couple of weeks without success. I am a fully qualified accountant with over ten years of all around accounting experience mainly in the charity sector.

I am very desparate to get a part-time/flexible hours job with a company that is family friendly and wondered if anyone would be kind enough to help me with this.

Thanks

Kiyalily

The charity sector is pretty good for part-time finance jobs. Often they can't afford a full time post but need the expertise. I am getting lots of approaches from agencies at the moment so maybe there are a lot of people on the market.

I would advise looking at the online sites - Charity Job, Third Sector. See which agencies advertise the charity finance roles and approach them. Look also at Charity Finance Group (www.cfg.org.uk) who have a jobs page. Timewise are also good for part-time roles, often including charity roles.

If you get an interview I can't stress enough doing your homework on the charity. It's not enough any more to say finance is finance regardless of the organisation - which it is. But there will be other candidates out there who know more about the specific organisation. Try to see what differentiates the organisation from others in the field. What's their key stats that they're trying to change. If you can, try to show how you can link finance beyond the bounds of the finance department - what do you understand about fundraising, donor reporting, HR, IT etc.

Good finance folk who know their stuff and can go beyond bean counting can be hard to find. Try to strike the balance between showing them how great you are while being open to learn about them.