About starting school...

Which school is your child starting as some may be stricter than others.

Goodrich, where my son goes, is pretty laid back about those things.

PE bags, can you have any bag? At Goodrich, yes. My son puts his PE kit in a plastic bag inside his main school bag.

Pencil case etc, do we need them? School provides the pencils etc but some children do bring them in even though they are not needed.

Can they be anything (read super heros)? Some pencil cases can be very distracting (I also work in a school) so I would keep it as simple as possible - but yes, superheroes are allowed as far as I know.

Are you allowed charms on the rucksack/book bag? Yes, lots of kids attach them to the zip. But don't put anything on that would be sorely missed if it was broken or fell off and lost.

Hope that helps. I imagine most state primaries will have a similar approach but the private schools may be stricter.

On the pencil case - from my experience it was only at about year 2 that my kids wanted to take one to school, before that they're just not necessary and not something kids have an awareness of.

In year 3 my daughters class went "Smiggle" mad, and the competitiveness/trading etc got so bad the teacher banned pencil cases which I thought was a good move.

A charm/key ring on your book bag is a good idea as in a class of 30 it makes it easier to identify your one.

Thanks both, I think I might be suffering from a case of precious first born syndrome, and might be overthinking all the details of the school thing.

My husband did think I was insane when searching amazon for keyrings/charms at 1am...

Goodliz, we are going to a state school I just thought a charm thing would help my son identify his rucksack as they are all identical at the school he is going to.

Well if you're going to search Amazon for anything at 1am, charms seems perfectly reasonable! :)