Working from home

I can't work out what to do when my daughter starts school in September. She is an only child and I really want to be there to pick her up every day / organise play dates etc. But how on earth can you work and be there for pick up? I am looking to try and work from home - I used to be a journalist so may try and place some features but I know this is incredibly difficult. Any tips and advice on how to build a career from home and be around for pick up would be amazing? Or, what child care options are there for after school? I am thinking particularly as my daughter gets older. There is an afterschool club nearby but I can;t see her wanting to do that after a full day at school, not for a few years anyway. What does everyone do?

Susypx

Childcare swap? So, work from home 2-3x a week and arrange with a friend to pick up DD from school until 5pm, and you could return the favour the days you aren't working?

I'd love to work from home, I am meant to be going back to lecturing in Sept (babies willl be 14mo and 2y9mo)but finding the right childcare for us is a nightmare. I may end up doing the accounts/book-keeping/job bookings for our family business from home...

yes think the childcare swap is a good idea, only problem is that obviously most others have siblings which works ok when they are younger but I would have thought older ones would get a little bored with two little ones running around. I just need to find the work now. Would be lovely just to have a couple of days in an office and then try and do some freelance stuff at home as well (problem is that I think everyone wants that!!). Thanks for suggestions.

Susyx