Cheap groceries around Dulwich?

Jphobia

Hi there,

I'm a student renting a place in East Dulwich and I'm finding it tough to find a store which is reasonably cheap to do vegetable shopping on a tight budget. The first week I was here, I shopped in Peckham and came home with filthy dusty/greasy peppers and half rotten onions (not to mention certain rude shopkeepers...) So I've been shopping at supermarkets and occasionally the stores on Lordship lane which are a treat, but far too pricey for veggies.

I would appreciate any suggestions, even if it means a bit of a bus ride :)

Thanks,

Johanna

Pretty Traditional greengrocers on Northcross Road.

Peckham's great for veg, but you do need to look more carefully at what you're buying than you would in a supermarket and be choosy. It's a bit more hassle, but will save you a fortune compared to Sainsbury's.

Also, Lidl in Peckham - the veg isn't all cheaper than you'd find in Sainsbury's but worth a look for other staples like olive oil, tinned tomatoes, chickpeas etc.

Not all the veg in ED is over-priced; e.g. one medium fennel bulb in Co-op = ?1.00, same sized bulb but firmer and fresher from SMBS = 55p. You have to shop around.

Also good lemons, tomatoes, fresh herbs, olive, garlic, pulses etc. all good prices from East Dulwich Supermarket (opposite East Dulwich Deli).

The local supermarket on Forest Hill Road next to The Rose pub is great. The fruit and veg is reasonably priced and is very good quality. I have now stopped using Sainsbury's for all my fruit and veg and now pop across the road. The guys who work there are also very polite and helpful!