Council Plans to Flood Dulwich Park - Consultation Close to Closing

Dear All

Is anyone aware of the plan to build 'bunds' in Dulwich Park in order to flood the park rather than Turney Rd, Burbage Rd etc plain during the 1 in 75 year flood that might affect Dulwich? I would have thought that heavy rain is going to affect the local area much more than their consultants suggest.

I am a local resident whose property would not be affected by this flooding so I have no vested interest in opposing the plan. I am however annoyed that a large open public space used by so families across the borough could be sacrificed because the council says it can't afford to put in proper drainage and is just shifting the problem and potentially affecting many more people.

Does anyone know anything about how these works or seen any consultation at all? It would mean that a large area of the park would be off-limits to the happy band of young, aspiring footballers who go there to train at weekends? Where will they go then?

The plans are on the Southwark website if anyone is interested in seeing them but the consultation period appears to have opened quietly and closes imminently.

link here

http://www.southwark.gov.uk/downloads/download/3681/herne_hill_and_dulwich_flood_risk_management_proposal

from a quick look through, it's not straightforward to see the extent of impact on the park. Would have been helpful to have seen the exhibition.

But I will say that citing the HH floor last year is a pretty disingenuous and alarmist way of garnering support. The flood at HH was caused by a burst water main so is irrelevant to flood plain discussions.

[edited to correct for the photo being from 2004 not 2013]