Victorian post-mortem photograpahs

Dear All - I am not sure if this is the right place on the forum but thought I would give it a try. I know this maybe a long shot but worth trying. I am a second year MA student undertaking a dissertation on Victorian post-mortem photographs (photographs of dead people taken as keepsakes - for anyone that doesn't know - I didn't know they existed until I studied them a few years back), especially looking at ones that were taken between 1860-1900 of the type which include some artistic setting such as angels, flowers rather than the very plain ones. I was hoping with the Victorian influence of the area that someone may have some family photographs of this kind they would be willing to let me look at or that someone may have converted a property and found an album or some pictures of this kind and wondering what to do with them, if so I would really appreciate looking at them. Or even some geneologists or local historians out there that may be able to point me to someone who can help.

Thank you for taking the time to read this and if you can help please get in touch either on this thread or PM.

Geraldine

Dear RosieH - Thank you for commenting

Neither did I until a while back but it is actually quite fascinating especially with our culture of the fear of death and the Victorians having many children dying and mothers dying in child birth that were documented with the new technology of photography. It made a good combination of immortalising the person that had died and a keepsake for the ones mourning. There is a fantastic (I think) author Audrey Linkman if you want to know more. I love some of the pictures that really dress people up imitating some paintings of the time. I also love the cemataries such as Nunhead where some of the graves are so ornate and so much symbolism used. I would love to make this personally to someone and investigate their photographs.

Geraldine

Dear KidKruger