Thrown off the P13 bus today..

Tea_drinker

Just to put the other side of this argument......without excusing rudeness....

I have been a PCV driver, and its 'orrible being the only person available for "customers" to focus upon. Everybody wants their personal demands met, all day long. Late people want the driver to not drive away until they are on, people on the bus want the driver to not wait and drive on. People want to eat their meals and drink on the bus, leave their litter (so the driver passes the whole shift on a bus that stinks)..and so on... and so on. If there is trouble, the driver has to "deal with it" in some way. Then there's the fare dodgers, the 4x4 pram drivers, and the people with a crap attitude towards any public service.

Its hard to be optimistic when dealing with the public all day.

Today, I was on a 37 bus returning from Brixton; somebodies child was sick all over the floor, and left without informing the driver. The driver reacted to the responses of the other passengers, and seeing what had happened he had to make a decision to return to the garage, because it was very clearly a possible cause of a slip by other passengers. So we had to get off and people berated him, and rudely.

Driving buses requires a very thick skin...but hopefully no rudeness.

R Gutsell

You weren't really "thrown" off the bus though were you? The driver simply refused to carry you and your goods. Sounds to me that although you're complaining about his manner perhaps yours wasn't the most friendly either. Works both ways you know and at the end of the day if the driver refuses to take a passenger on board, for whatever reason, they are perfectly within their rights to do so - yes it's true!

It varies.

Once a disabled girl tried to get on - the disabled entry didn't work

so she told the driver he had to stop the bus until it was fixed by law.

And she was right - everybody off.

KalamityKel Wrote:

-------------------------------------------------------