Road Traffic Incident - Underhill Road/Lordship Lane - 17th August

Does anyone know anything about this incident?

I was held up by it at 7pm and later discovered that the road closure went into force before midday.

When I got there I saw yellow markers all over the road and the police with a camera and a smashed up motorcycle on the pavement by the road.

I haven't been able to find anything reported about this incident and assure you that my interest is not a macabre one.

I am a driving instructor in the area and researching as to whether the 20mph speed limits are making our roads safer or more dangerous. This left me wondering if there is a ban on reporting serious accidents that occur on the roads that have been changed to a 20mph speed limit.

I try to stick to the 20 mph limit where ever possible (not always easy when going down hill with an automatic gear) but noticed frequently over taken by prats who want to go 40 mph. Last week down Barry Road 2 buses at bus stop and I could see that front bus was about to pull out having indicated.so held back. Car behind me overtook me and the 2 buses causing a car coming in the opposite direction to brake hard and swerve, was going around 35 - 40 mph.

Yes it just doesn't work and is not the answer on main routes at all. The answer is in enforcing the speed limits. If 30mph meant 30mph then that would be fine for much of Lordship Lane, and Sydenham Hill and now Westwood Hill and the whole of Lewisham is about to go to a 20mph limit.

I use the mini roundabouts here on my lessons so take my pupils down Kirkdale, right at the roundabout and up Westwood Hill and right at the next roundabout and then down Sydenham Hill.