Fat tree, Narrow pavement

Spotted at the top of Bellenden Road:

http://i304.photobucket.com/albums/nn185/idiotboy77/D3E64C53-6F7F-42B0-8E96-0F178F8C05C2_zpsd8b2ndza.jpg

I'm no expert on buggies, but I'm calling codswallop on this one.

http://i304.photobucket.com/albums/nn185/idiotboy77/03B314C1-0E7C-40A5-A687-1CA3A912EAF4_zpsqp7yq3uw.jpg

Have these signs sprung up elsewhere?

Think that must be a 4x4 buggie ...

If this blocks wheelchair use then the council has a priority to build slopes off and back on to the pavement and put in a no-parking-here double yellow.

Otherwise, if we cut down these majestic trees, we will turn our built environment into a wasteland.

Whilst trees are majestic and generally very good things, if they are blocking pedestrian/wheelchair access, they may well have to go. FWIW, the council has pared back all the lower growth on the Barry Road trees making it easier for people to pass - but some householders are not doing their bit.

More often that not, though, poor pedestrian/wheelchair access is due to human ignorance or lack of forethought (like the Xmas tree sellers on Bellenden this morning who only realised they were taking over way too much pavement when an elderly gentleman in a wheelchair tried to pass).

What rot! Had it been growing free, perhaps - just about, but this was placed their by a human being (probably part of a committee).

I love trees (hullo birds! hullo sky!) but when one is making it hard - and dangerous - for people to pass, especially those who need more space than average because of the way they have to get around, then a way around it (figuratively) must be found.

London Planes eat pollution and shed to with their bark. Make all streets one way reduce the car traffic to 1/2 the street. Other lanes is now free for pedestrians and cyclists and trees or even verge agriculture. Discuss without hurting my feelings. I cry very easily.

pop9770 Wrote:

-------------------------------------------------------