Dear Living South so called magazine (Lounged)

snorky

Is is possible to actually review an ED resturant and come to any conclusion other than " excellent" ?

I also note the half page advertising spread regarding the reviwed resturant one or to pages on from the alledged review

I await with excitement, the review of the Maxin chicken ribs burger emporium in forthcoming issues

Regards

Mr Snorky

i used to work in the publishing industry and it's just how it works

magazines that are free to the reader generally (and understanbly) see their customers as those that advertise rather than those that read - so the intention from launch isn't let's make a magazine than our readers will want to read (and to be honest tho i look at living south i certainly wouldn't pay for it) it's let's make a mag that we can sell some ads into

useful as in a glossier Yellow Pages kind of way - but there is pretty much nothing written in there that contributes to the sum of human knowledge

Even within the constraints of being advertiser led, it doesn't need to be quite so vapid with it's editorial surely? I would argue that about 5 years ago it made for a mildly diverting read with a few columnists. Whereas now it's just pointless

The small ads are quite useful, and if somewhere new opens it's handy to know.

There was also an interesting article in it about the Dulwich Ukelele Band.

Anyway they're making money from it so I'm sure they won't care about criticism on the EDF :))

ruffers Wrote:

-------------------------------------------------------

I'm sure the people paying to advertise in

> it would be delighted to learn it's not getting

> delivered where they say it is...

Perhaps the delivery people decided to cut-out the recipient and just put it straight in the bin?

Makes sense - saves the rest of us a job.

Well I've just skimmed through it over lunch, and I found bits of it quite interesting.