Traffic on Lyndhurst Grove

Bopster

Welcome to the area, as a toast rack resident I feel your pain.

The traffic is mildly worse at the moment than usual due to the closure of camberwell grove. Part of the current problem too is that due to the lack of parking restrictions anyone can park here and the whole area functions as a free for all for commuters using local stations and bus routes.

Thankfully a consultation was held last autumn to get a CPZ, and it looks like there has been a positive reaction. If a CPZ does come in over the summer, then expect traffic to drop considerably as the commuters find other streets to clog up, and Cambwerwell Grove reopens.

rahrahrah Wrote:

-------------------------------------------------------

> The CPZ won't calm traffic, it may well have the

> opposite effect.

> Camberwell Grove reopening will improve things.

Genuinely curious - why do you think reducing the number of vehicles on the streets by about 60%, and removing all the daily commuters fighting for spaces make it busier for traffic?

Bopster Wrote:

> Hi

>

> I've recently moved to Lyndhurst Grove. There's a

> lot more traffic than I thought. Is this because

> the bridge on Camberwell Grove is closed or is it

> always like this. Seems like it gets used as a bit

> of a rat run.

>

> Cheers

Camberwell Grove bridge closure is indeed the main issue. Should be a noticeable improvement when it finally reopens.

rahrah - I did enjoy that ,thanks .

Posting lyrics for those like me who can't hear

"59 Lyndhurst Grove"

There's a picture by his first wife on the wall

Stripped floor-boards in the kitchen and the hall

A stain from last week's party on the stairs

No one knows who made it or how it ever got there

They were dancing with children round their legs

Talking business, books and records, art and sex

All things being considered you'd call it a success

You wore your black dress oh-oh oh-oh...

He's an architect and such a lovely guy