Fireworks through door???

bagpuss

This morning I went out to the shop and found a burnt firwork on my front door mat! Somebody had obviously posted it through my letter box. It was quite big and burnt the front door and mat. Just wondering if anybody else has suffered the same?

Very dangerous and stupid!

Honestly, this used to go on when I was a student in Leeds. Gangs of Asian youths launching fireworks at people. I really find it surprising that fireworks are so readily available e.g. go to Sainsburys and they are on 2 for 1 offer. Fine, in the right hands they are not a problem, but too often they end up in the hands of out of control youths who amuse themselves by putting them through letterboxes etc. Surely, they should be banned. Fireworks displays are total rubbish anyway.

SANDO Wrote:

-------------------------------------------------------

> I wonder whether Mitch would get away with "Gangs

> of Black youths"?

> Perhaps better not to discriminate in these

> turbulent times when people seek to blame

> minorities for economic woes- Remember Germany in

> the 30's...

That was the Jews, silly! Not the bloody Asian youths and their fireworks(6)

Hi,

I'm doing a work placement this week at the Southwark News and would really like to write a story about this - everyone should be aware of what's happening so they can be vigilant in the run-up to bonfire night.

Would anyone be prepared to talk to me about this? If so, can you drop me an email at [email protected] or PM me?

I'm called Vivienne Raper. I appreciate this is quite a scary thing to have happened so I'm happy to chat anonymously/in confidence if you'd prefer.

Best,

Vivienne