North Cross Road - Kerbside Intervention

Hello East Dulwich Residents, I am a student from UAL where myself and three other students are starting a new project called Kerbside Intervention. Kerbside Intervention is a physical design in a public space that promotes accessibility for commuters who are walking and cycling, this could be a covered area to sit, bike storage or perhaps a charging station for cellphones. The idea is to help with parking management and of course the overall safety of our commuters.

Locally within the East Dulwich area, we have chosen North Cross Road specifically. Our kerbside/design area will be directly in front of St Clements Yard. We would love to hear your opinions on what you think would benefit the area. Here are some of our goals for this Kerbside Project:

1. Minimize Congestion & Disruption

2. Improve Safety for pedestrians and cyclists

3. Promote Health & Well-being

4. Parking Management

The project aims to help with all of these central issues when looking at how we can make our Kerbside more accesible for pedestrians walking/cycling and to improve our overall commuting experience.

A few things to think about:

1. What is your main concern when travelling on North Cross Road?

2. What would you like to see less of? Could be parked cars/ bikes/ etc

3. How easy is it for you to travel on this road? Do you drive? Walk? Cycle? Can you park your bike easily and efficiently? (would be interesting to hear personal opinions)

4. How would the community feel about charging station for cell phones and devices?

5. Should the design be child-friendly?

6. How important is it for there to be parking on this specific road?

7. We want to make this space accessible to everyone, therefore we are very open to hearing your ideas and concerns surrounding the project, so please do not hesitate to respond with strong ideas and feel free to contact me on here or privately for more information via email: [email protected]

Hi Ruby,