Barclays Bank Lordship Lane

Is it just because I'm getting old, or does everything seem to take a ridiculously long time these days? When I was a student I sometimes worked for a friend's father's office fitting company in the summer vacation; often we'd do offices in the city where they had to be refitted between close of business one day and opening the next, so we'd refit a large trading floor overnight, or at worst over a weekend. Now any roadworks, refits etc seem to take extraordinary amounts of time...

singalto Wrote:

-------------------------------------------------------

> I was told that it is closing in June for 11 weeks

> to have more self service machines installed.

It's the model Barclays use in a lot of their branches now. Basically it becomes a self service bank with a member of staff supervising. It coincides with the closure of their Forest Hill branch as well.

eastdulwich_dweller Wrote:

-------------------------------------------------------

> Large trading floors pay for the service to be

> done quickly as they lose more money each day

> things aren't running. Retail banking (where more

> and more people are banking online and businesses

> are taking cards) is a lot slower on the refit

> front.

Barclays made ?3bn+ profit last year, they could afford to do it more quickly, closing a branch for eleven weeks is just showing contempt for their customers, especially their elderly customers who rely on "real" banks more than most.

The queues would be a lot shorter if they'd revert to the old idea of paying-in envelopes one could post in their machine. I was told it was an attempt to thwart money laundering. I felt like a very low level launderer paying in a cheque for ?5.00