anything I can do about a dodgy sale on EDF?

This is a request for advice! Although I realise that some people may think it's a stupid question, or that I have been very stupid......

I bought a second-hand iPhone 6 from someone on EDF, hoping/trusting that it would be a safer place to do so than going to eBay or Gumtree. It was advertised 'in excellent condition' and hardly used, but after a very short time, it became clear that it is far from excellent, and basically, has a rubbish battery and cuts out all the time. I work as a freelancer and a phone is so important, and I am feeling pretty ripped off (?180) as well as my work being compromised....

I politely contacted the seller to let them know that it's not working, and asked to return it and get my money back, but they said...no....

Any thoughts about what I can do?!

If you know where they live you can take them to the small claims court -- write a letter before action.

If you paid by card your bank may reclaim the payment if you tell them.

If you paid cash to a stranger in McDonalds, then that's it, I'm afraid

https://www.citizensadvice.org.uk/advisernet/consumer/somethings-gone-wrong-with-a-purchase/return-faulty-goods/

The benefit of buying off ebay is that you are actually guaranteed protection - and even more so if you pay through paypal! The seller doesn't even recieve your money immediately catching any "dodgy" sellers, furthermore, paypal protects your money and both companies work better for a buyer than a seller these days. You can raise a problem and immediately your money is secure, you can send the product back and are refunded if all procedures followed :)

I hope that demistifies the old concerns about ebay and how risky it is.

I gave my Mum my old iPhone 6 rather than selling it although I?d have described it as excellent condition.