Council tax

Duke, this happened to me but in Enfield -- got back after xmas to find a nice letter saying I have a liability order against me because I hadn't turned up to court and hadn't paid Aug-Nov council tax, despite phoning them on the day I moved from North to South London and settling my bill. I have to admit, I shouted in a rage at the woman on the end of the phone, even sweeter cause I knew I was right (but felt bad because it wasn't really her fault, and was very nice to her when she got it sorted for me). Anyway, she sorted it out by checking the system and my phone call, and in the end got 90 quid BACK!!! Result -- trouble is, as a psychologist I know the dangers of conditioned reinforcement -- pressing that lever got me a nice cash reward, and has probably made me more angry grrrrr. But fight your corner, although don't let the bailiffs come round

dukesdenver, I have had the same problems with Southwark and this is the explanation they gave me.