Definition of Subsidence (for East Dulwich house insurance)

Hello all,

I know there have been many emails about sudsidence, but I have not discovered a clear answer to the insurance question that asks "Has the property, to the best of your knowledge" suffered from subsidence?".

I am new to mid-terrace victorians and do not know whether the funny angles in the house relate to normal movement over the past century or so, or whether its because it has "suffered" from subsidence. If the place has not required underpinning in the past does this mean it has not suffered? How can you otherwise define "suffering".

you'd be hard pushed to find a Victorian terrace in the area which hasn't suffered subsidence! Having the property underpinned is usually only for the most severe cases, we had work done on the house because of subsidence caused by close proximity vegetation - it was over and above the normal plaster cracks that you get with 100 years of movement but not bad enough to be underpinned. Our front door dropped by an inch and half during the very dry summer two years ago and internal doors dropped too, we had the work done and there was no noticeable movement last summer.

My guess would be that if there is nothing stated in your purchasers pack about there having been work carried out because of subsidence then I would declare 'no' to the question posed.

It is a bit confusing, but unless either you know the house has been underpinned in the past, or if you've had a survey which says it needs underpinning right away, then for insurance purposes and with regards to what you tick on insurance application, your house 'hasn't subsided'.

All houses move, but movement isn't subsidence.