Allowed open fires in chimneys? Recommended chimney sweep?

TarahC

Hi, we're in East Dulwich by the station and we have heard that in some areas in London you're not allowed to have an open fire - someone we know in Richmond isn't allowed. I thought it was just zone 1 - does anyone know how we find out?

Also, does anyone have a recommendation for a chimney sweep and any idea what it costs?

Thanks!

Yes - i just used one today. It cost ?40 per chimney and the guy was called Mr. Pearce. You can contact him on 07930 345 245

i haven't been home yet to see what he's done. Saying that i'm not sure what swept chimneys even look like...!

As you can tell, I'm new to this too but I gather that you can have open fires as long as you use smokeless fuel? there's someone on here that knows a lot more about this than me, i guess he'll pm you as he did me (he was very helpful).

Hi -we used Mr Jolly from Forest Hill and he's really nice - his number is 0775 2130577. He did a really good job with some sort of huge vacuum cleaner and cleaned up after himself etc. He also helped to remove the dodging blocking of the chimney which had been done by the people we bought the house from.

He told me that you're only allowed the fires with smokeless fuel round here not a proper open fire.

You can use smokeless fuel, or you can install a stove that is on the approved list for smokeless zones (for burning wood etc). There are quite a few know (e.g. from Morso).

A stove is more expensive, but more efficient (less fuel, more heat into the room), so appropriate if you're going to be around longer term.

Apex chimneys are excellent, really professional and knowledgable. They are registered with whoever chimney sweeps are regulated by and provide all the paperwork and certificates. They are also very safety conscious and will make sure your fireplaces are safe to use- 2 of ours weren't but the previous owners had been using them.