Anyone doing marathon training in East Dulwich?

Hillary07

So i'm new to East Dulwich... and I've just (probably foolishly) committed myself to doing the marathon again. Foolish as I did rather disastrously at my effort this year (wall moment, vomit, hysterical sobbing, swearing at supporters... I mean it was bad.) ANyway, I've heard of East Dulwich runners so I shall be heading there next week, but is anyone doing the marathon and has a running group? Or wants to set one up?! Thanks. ;-)

When I did the marathon in 2005 I trained with the Dulwich Park Runners - one of the more experienced runners drew up a great training programme, and as well as running on the standard club nights (Tues and Thurs) I also did my long runs every weekend with a group from the club. Highly recommend them - also meant I did most of the marathon with a running partner who I'd trained with and there were supporters from the club right round the course. And they were waiting at the end with champagne!

Their website is:

http://www.dulwichparkrunners.com/

They usually have quite a large group of runners entered into London, so you'd be in good company.

Good luck, I hope your next marathon experience is more positive :)

Ah, thank you. Yes, I shall try them.

I ran with a chest infection this year as I couldn't let people down. But I'm determined to enjoy it next year and maybe lay off the booze a bit more during the training schedule - the two don't really go well together. Still it was a very awful, but funny experience and I managed to raise a small amount for Breakthrough Breast Cancer. Next year I'm running for Clic Sargent.

Anyway, thanks again!

"wall moment, vomit, hysterical sobbing, swearing at supporters"

I hear that.