Uni project can you help?

kkqd4555

I am a university student currently studying what drives people to live in East Dulwich (in particular the ward of lordship lane). I am interested to see what the views of this forum's members are and would appreciate even the briefest reply. A particular question I am focusing on is the influence the education facilities (for children) may or may not have had. Whether it was housing prices, locality, community or a lifetimes upbringing please let me know! It would be useful to know your street name too, I hope you can help!

I reckon you'll find a vast array of different reasons based on the year that residents arrived. The relatively slow pace of urban regeneration in SE London meant that gentrification was slower to come to ED than places like Clapham, Balham and Brixton. The key restriction was transport facilities, the key driver was house prices elsewhere.

Even when I arrived in '99 there weren't many yuppies to be seen (in the true sense of the acronym not the eighties prejudice). There were signs of white collar families recently moved into the area, but nothing like the three wheel pram fest we have at the moment. Socially facilites were poor with a great many run down or closed shops, no gym, dirty swimming pool, Sainsbury was mostly blamed for the breakdown of LLane, the church on Goose Green was falling down.

From a pub perspective I was advised by longer term residents that my middle class dress sense and BBC accent would probably put me at risk in most of the local drinking dens except the EDT.

I moved because I could just about afford a flat here, and didn't have troubles with transport as I worked on the Northern Line from London Bridge. Previously lived in rented accommodation between Streatham and Balham.