Shoveling East Dulwich

JS33

In addition to being loads of fun to play in and quite pretty, the snow may make the neighbourhood quite dangerous if it ices over, especially for the elderly and others who are mobility impaired. See http://www.eastdulwichforum.co.uk/forum/read.php?5,580870,page=2. If you have time over the next few days, are physically able, and have or can borrow a shovel from a neighbour or nearby business, please think about clearing a bit of the pavement near where you live, which might prevent the neighbourhood from turning into the ice rink we had a few weeks ago.

I've spent a couple hours today shoveling a (sadly, very narrow) path along Gowlett Road and will be back out in a bit to finish the street. If anyone nearby happens to own a proper snow shovel and would be willing to lend it out, please PM me -- the garden-variety makes for a much harder job!

Disclaimer that I'm not an expert on snow/ice, but here are my thoughts. Salt is a very effective de-icer, but it has some drawbacks, because it's not great for the environment, metal or shoe leather. Growing up we would sometimes sprinkle a bit of kitty litter (sand) on the pavement after shoveling, which helps with traction, although it doesn't actually melt any snow.

That said, I don't think sprinkling pavement-clearing-sized quantities of salt probably make much difference to the environment, vs. on miles of highway, kitty litter is also awful for leather shoes. I clearly need to just buy a pair of wellies!

Pathway cleared last night for my corner of Marmora & Scutari and junction gritted this morning also as grit lorries do not visit the side streets.