Rye Lane Cycle Path

As someone fairly new to this biking lark, can anyone tell me why the cycle path at the end of Rye Lane can't be painted blue?

Now I know that pedestrians walking out in front of cyclists isn't a new thing but it seems particularly bad down Rye Lane and to be fair, it's not that obvious that the thin bit of pavement is a bike path.

It's only a matter of time that someone gets hurt!

I'm pretty new to it too but I think only the main roads on the cycle highways for !boris bikes! are painted blue. Good to get writing to the council with your concerns or just be mindful of sleepy pedestrians in the morning and cycle a little slower.

My understanding ( from expressing dislike when this was just a proposal )is that the cycle lane between Smiths and Boots in Rye Lane is based on the concept of " shared space " .

A reason for the apparent paradox that reduced regulation leads to safer roads may be found by studying the risk compensation effect.[7]

"Shared space is successful because the perception of risk may be a means or even a prerequisite for increasing objective safety. Because when a situation feels unsafe, people are more alert and there are fewer accidents."[citation needed]

"We're losing our capacity for socially responsible behaviour, ...The greater the number of prescriptions, the more people's sense of personal responsibility dwindles."(Der Spiegel quotes Monderman)[8]

"When you don't exactly know who has right of way, you tend to seek eye contact with other road users... You automatically reduce your speed, you have contact with other people and you take greater care."[9]

"To understand how shared space works, it is important to move away from reliance on 'rights' and laws, and to recognize the potential for conventions and protocols ... Such conventions and protocols evolve rapidly and are very effective if the state does not intervene through regulation." (Shared Space Expert Team)[10]

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shared_space