A legal query Trespass or contract law?

mattH

Dear all, East Dulwich Forum Legal Hive mind......

If a company is contracted out to do works, can a resident refuse to allow them to continue - where that resident has not made the contract?

Details:

A friend of mine is a leaseholder and has been presented with a charge for maintenance and renovation works.... The contract for the works is between a social housing management company and the contractor.

I am a builder and the charges he mentioned I know to be ?500% above competitive market rates on average. The charge Flat roof repair using a fibreglass system is 800% more than market rates...

So, Both the Leaseholders and the social housing company will have to pay massively over the odds if the works continue.

I have flagged this with officers in the department, flagged it with various councillors.

Question for the Hive mind:

Is there a legal way a tenant or leaseholder can refuse to let third party contractors onto their property?

Second. Where the faulty works have caused water damage, can this be grounds for tenants refusing to let contractors on their premises?

Firstly.......I am not a qualified lawyer of any kind but have dealt with some similar situations personally.

1. Your friend should look at the Leasehold Advisory Service website - this body is government funded to give advice to leaseholders.

2. Before contacting LAS your friend should read and have to hand a copy of their lease and any correspondence they received from the social housing company you mention about the works.

3. Your friend should be clear about exactly who the freeholder and also exactly what the management situation is. Is the block managed by the social housing organisation itself, or do they employ a managing agent, or is there a residents' management company for example?