Basic cycling advice for riders

mlteenie

I am a longterm cycling instructor working for the largest provider all around London.

I have seen an awful lot of less than ideal riding lately, so from a safety point of view, it would be great if riders can bear these points in mind (and teach others until training is provided again).

What I call the Top 3 Rules of Safe Cycling are, in order of priority:

1: Looking is your most important task.

May seem obvious, but almost nobody looks around enough, especially behind, and more particularly when about to execute a maneouvre eg. Turning, overtaking, etc.

2: Cover your brake levers.

Most riders don't realise that having your fingers resting on the brake levers after moving off is extremely important. The split-second advantage this gives you, particularly as speed and distances increase, can make ALL the difference. I KNOW that 0.2s matters - there will be times in the future when you think back thankfully for this new ingrained habit. It is like wearing a seatbelt - may take a little getting used to but eventually you will not feel comfortable without it.

3: Ride 'The Width Of A Door And A Little Bit More'.

You really don't want to find out how damaging a vehicle door can be. We all have an equal right to use the roads so riders and others have a duty to keep everyone safe. This means avoiding the dangerous positions such as riding within the 'door zone'. Move out to a metre or more because you do not have time to look into every car for occupants.

This often means taking a safe position in front of, rather than next to other traffic (that includes cyclists).

Do not ignore traffic behind you - use Rule 1 - look round at them which both gives you information and shows your awareness of their presence. This is reassuring to potentially frustrated drivers who may perceive a cyclist apparently oblivious to what is going on around them, ie. Not looking around, esp back.