Finding work

mlteenie

Hmmm....

So how are people coping without work? I was lucky enough to be covered by the SEISS but many weren't.

Both my main streams of income are gone for the foreseeable (namely music and cycle-related).

It seems like there will be enormous competition for any work that might be available.

What the hell do we do?

Businesses still need people (if the businesses can survive and that's what the government need to try and ensure). I remember the early 1980s recession and to me that seemed much worse than anything that came after due to the mass unemployment from old industries - it felt hopeless at the time but by 1987 there was a boom.

The rich, astute or lucky businesses (or those with contacts) will be buying up the rest now I guess - just as some of us imagined would happen after Brexit.

What I mean is life will continue and we will bounce back :)

It is really grim. I'm an artist and I work making props and doing installations for companies. I am not picky about work but because most of my experience is practical rather than administrative there is very little work about.

I have been out of work since the end of March. I had a couple of interviews but between interviewing and a follow up the job disappeared because the companies' situations were precarious.

I guess all you need to do is apply, apply, apply.

GOOD LUCK!

I took a big leap of faith and am putting on an art show currently at Jeannie Avent Gallery (till the 14th). It has been nice to see people out and about in East Dulwich and appreciating being able to go into Art Galleries again. Hopefully, I'll sell some work too!

I remember the 80s recession too, but I hadn't left homeat its peak. I think this may end up being just as bad but in different ways. It will pass, but like then, at a price. People can't afford to wait, unfortunately.

Things will be grim.