Nuisance on no 207 Lordship Lane

I have been a local resident for over 8 years here on Lordship Lane, never have i experienced anything like what im about to explain.

I was walking by the other day with my son where gravel from the building work on the scaffold on 207 Lordship Lane nearly dropped in front of me.

I screamed in shock and said what are you doing that nearly hit my son and i had such abuse by the builders swearing at me with what looks like a cannabis cigarette hanging out of his mouth.

I was shocked and gobsmacked by what had happened, they looked like cowboy builders, no helmets on whilst standing on top of the scaffold, it was just all so bizarre especially for the Lordship Lane.

When passers by intervened they also told me about the nuisance this tenant is with the building work going on through the night, the smell of cannabis and police at this premise all the time. Im not sure if anyone could help but if you happen to know the landlords details i would be so grateful to get in contact with them and let them know what a horrific kind of a tenant they have.

Am I right to think that this scaffolding is resting on the pavement? If this is so, it needs to be licensed and there should be a license attached to the poles. If this is on the pavement it is obstructing a public right of way and must be safe. Apart from the cannabis and the lack of helmets this doesn't sound safe.

It is most unlikely a simple tenant is undertaking construction work - more likely a leaseholder - although they would need the ground landlord's permission.

What you describe is unsafe and dangerous work practice - something that the council and/ or the H&S Executive should be addressing.

If you are concerned you might also want to contact your local councillor, or a councillor for the ward in which 207 Lordship lane sits (which I think is the new Goose Green Ward) if you are in a different ward yourself.

I heard a very similar story to you own!