Cycling with children in traffic

JB

Hi there, I'm a professional cycle instructor and British Cycling coach.

The main things when cycling in traffic are:

Communication - eye contact looking behind signalling

Observation - looking ahead looking behind where are other other rosd users

Priority - who has it?

Positioning.

And yes to do have to relearn some new habits like covering brakes.

I have seen many children out cycling with adults which is great. However we would always recomemEnd you have them in front of you.

You should all ride out of the door zone. You can signal better, look behind and of course always be able to see them. Yes i do know a mother who lost her son once as he was not looking where she was when she turn left.

I'm doing private lessons - enhance your riding in traffic for individuals and families(Boroughs not sorted out delivery yet and funding issues!)And accompanied rides to work etc

I've been cycle tutoring a good while locally (coached at Herne Hill velodrome helped set up the popular HHYCC)) And all over London. And indeed South East

So do get in touch if interested. Fully DBS and accredited. Also bike check as art of lesson.

Take care.Stay Safe Judith Bonner

When I learnt to ride a bicycle (in the mid to late '50s) I was not allowed on to the open road by my father until I had shown that I could ride one-handed (left or right) so that I could signal turns. He said that, on the road, you should know what everyone is doing and they should know what you are doing. I think that's still good advice, though I am always surprised nowadays when a cyclist actually signals a turn. Often they're my age, or look it! Later on he taught me, in a car, the concept of defensive driving.

I am really worried, when I now drive, when I come up to very young children on the road who clearly are only just in control of their bikes, with both hands. Particularly when they are struggling to keep up with their biking dads.