Public Singing

Hi All,

I have been living in the Peckham Rye area for around a year and half now and I think it is lovely, aside my general gripes surrounding litter, people leaving their car engine's running at all hours and music being played outside my house at an antisocial volume. Those issues aside, I am writing this post to discuss the man who sits outside Peckham Rye train station each weekday morning, singing.

Obviously we live in a free country and I am an advocate of free speech and expression. However, I commute to work from Peckham Rye by train and find it extremely annoying that I am forced to endure this man's singing. I have to say that the quality is by no means the worst I have heard, but I feel that it is unreasonable that I have no choice but to allow this noise to form part of my daily journey.

I am by no means an expert on the matter, but I believe that unauthorised busking is an offence and the appropriate license is required. This man may well have a license and if so, I will have to live with his singing.

I want to know if anyone else feels the same way and if I am in a minority of people who can't live with the obvious joy in this man's heart. I may be annoyed, but in a free country such as ours, I may well get a busking license myself and sit outside the station too, singing non-stop cher classics played 'delicately' on a drum that I fashion from dustbins.

Watch this space...

What do you suggest I say? and what do you think the likely outcome of the conversation will be?

I could ask him if he has a license, but then what would we talk about?

I am quite sure that he will not stop singing because I am annoyed by it and similarly, I am quite sure that I will not be won round to his point of view as I find his singing antisocial.