School nursery and wrap around care

Susan

Just wanted to get peoples thoughts on how they managed work with childcare/school nursery hours.

We ideally would like our son to start at a school nursery in September but as you all know its term time only and then only for 2.5 hrs/day. I will probably be working 3 days per week.

What do people generally do? chilminder who drops off and picks-up and then does holiday time care? any other options that I havent thought about such as nurseries that would cover afternoons/holiday times?

Any advice appreciated

Susan

This was the reason we didn't put our daughter into school nursery. We probably would have gone for a childminder who drops off and picks up. Many charge for the full day though (understandably). Holiday care isn't an issue for us as I'm a teacher. In some ways it's a good idea to find a childminder for nursery and beyond since they still before and after school care in Reception...

I went back to work just after my older son started at school nursery. It worked for us as we already had a childminder in situ, and it coincided with her taking on my younger son for 2 full days, she knew the school etc and was in a position to be able to do the drop offs/pick ups on the days I worked, then fill in during school holidays. If you're not coming from that position, I agree it's quite tricky. There were quite a few working parents in my son's year, off the top of my head I think mainly using childminders/nannies though. You might be able to get a childminder who is happy to do it as a wrap around care thing, i.e. not be paid for the missing 3 hours - esp if she/he already has other charges - in the same way that many take on school runs.